Raw onion bread. CAUTION: Do not consume before a hot date.

Raw onion bread. CAUTION: Do not consume before a hot date.

I became inspired to experiment with raw foods when my good friend Aurore started sharing her masterpieces with me. This girl has nearly perfected the raw food art and I’m dazzled by the amazing treats she comes up with weekly. If you’d like to indulge in some of her amazing recipes, check out her blog: http://anaboreal.wordpress.com. She gifted me a dehydrator for my birthday a few years ago. I’ve used it a few times over the years but in the past few weeks, I’ve really been putting it to work. You can make a ton of delicious things in a dehydrator. Jerky, fruit leather, dried fruit, granola, raw crackers, raw bread, etc… Dehydrating allows you to retain nearly all of the nutritional content of the food which is incredibly beneficial to your body. My energy soars, my skin glows and I even notice increased mental acuity. I love how my body responds to a meal of mainly raw veggies but I often feel I’m missing substance when I eat just a bowl of greens. A few slices of raw bread leaves me feeling satiated and boosts my omega, protein and fiber intake, as it contains ground flax seed as one of the binding agents. Not to mention the bread can be doctored up with all manner of tasty treats like pesto, mushroom pate, avocado, cheese… The sky’s the limit!

You’ll need a coffee grinder to grind your flax seeds; the hull of a flax seed is so hard that if you eat them whole they will pass through your system undigested and you’ll miss out on the amazing health benefits all together, namely Omega 3. Also, pre-ground flax seed is sup     posedly what’s left after the seeds have been stripped of their oils so you risk missing out on the bulk of nutrients when you buy packaged ground flax meal. Coffee grinders are cheap, you can get an effective one for $20.00 and it can also be used to grind spices like cardamom and clove. I also use it to make my own flour, like oat and almond. It’s one of my favorite kitchen appliances and if you cook at home a lot, I bet you’ll get your money’s worth out of it quickly.

This recipe is best made with sweet onions. They have a little less of a pungent bite, which you’ll want, since you aren’t cooking them.

RAW ONION BREAD

Ingredients:
•2 big sweet white onions
•1 cup raw sunflower seeds
•1 cup flax seeds
•2 tbsp nutritional yeast (omit if you want this truly raw)
•3 tbsp soy sauce (use Nama shoyu if you want this truly raw)

Directions:
– Peel onions, cut into quarters and place 2-3 quarters in food processor at a time. Pulse until onions are finely chopped but not minced as they will start to become mushy onion pulp; this will yield a wet, gummy finished product. I know this first hand as I botched my first attempt. 😝

– Put onions in a large bowl.DSC_0606

– Grind sunflower seeds in coffee grinder put aside and then grind flax seeds.

DSC_0609– Add these to the onions along with nutritional yeast and soy sauce and mix together until well combined.

– Spread mixture out evenly on 2-3 dehydrator trays lined with parchment paper. I used 2 because I like my bread a little thicker, use 3 if you want a crispier cracker like bread.

DSC_0613– Set your dehydrator to 125 and dehydrate for an hour.

– Flip bread and lower dehydrator to 105. Dehydrate for 6-8 more hours depending on how you prefer the consistency.DSC_0625

Enjoy!

And please, if you are going to be in close quarters with anyone who hasn’t consumed large amounts of raw onion, suck on a mint. 😉

Leave a Reply

