Slowing down.

Slowing down.

I’m sitting on my couch in my old slippers, allowing gentle waves of contentment to wash over me. My baby girl is in my arms sleeping peacefully and I’m watching the steady sprinkle of rain outside my window. The clouds are thick and dark, with no sign of clearing today. I couldn’t be happier about it. We needed rain, urgently. I, just as urgently, needed a morning like this, with no agenda, no glaring to do list; just me, my girl and the rain.
IMG_2940.JPG

I have the tendency to fill my days with a lot of expectation. The moment I open my eyes, my mind is a flurry. ‘I need to call this person, cook this meal, clean the stove… Oh I haven’t done yoga in a few days, better get on that.’ This can be wonderful as I tend to accomplish a lot. All of this busyness can also be self sabotaging. Due to my constant planning, I may miss the opportunity to be spontaneous or I may get upset when things don’t go exactly as I envisioned. I find a lot more value in letting go of needing my day to go a certain way. Flexibility. It’s the quality I’m coveting most and I’m working on acquiring more of it every day. ‘You don’t want to stand rigid like a tall oak that cracks and collapses in the storm. Instead you want to be flexible like a reed that bends with the storm and survives.’ – Deepak Chopra. This morning has been a wonderful opportunity to practice this. I woke up with my usual list of tasks to accomplish but something about the falling rain and this sweet warm baby in my arms is urging me to throw that list away.

The list will always be there. Always. When all the items are checked off, I will compile a new set of items. This moment will be gone as soon as I blink and I don’t want to miss it. I also don’t want to spend any more time being grouchy about life getting in the way of my agenda. So I sit here and observe. I slowly breathe in and out. I listen to the trash truck fumble along our narrow street. I hear the rain splash in newly forming puddles on the sidewalk. I watch my baby’s chest rise and fall. I close my eyes and feel the cool air entering through my nostrils as I breathe in and notice how much it has heated up as I breathe out. This moment is magic and it’s all we have. The past is full of potentially skewed memories, the future may never come, the present is a gift. Thank you rain for slowing me down today. ❤️

IMG_2941.JPG

8 thoughts on “Slowing down.

  1. When new people follow my blog, I am compelled to check out theirs too. This post brought tears to my eyes, I remember the days of mat leave when it was just me and my baby girl, and getting so much more out of the quiet mornings. Love this reminder! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading! Being a new mom can be so exhausting… But then you stop, take a breath and look at this perfect angel that YOU created and you know that it’s the best thing you’ll ever do.

      Like

      1. Through it all, keep remembering to do that. Because it is amazing and hard and awesome and scary and nerve-wracking and immensely joyful and hurtfull all at the same time, sometimes all in the same second. It’s a rollercoaster, but definitely the BEST rollercoaster to ever be on 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

