Vegan Mexican Hot Chocolate Chia Pudding

Vegan Mexican Hot Chocolate Chia Pudding

My man requested chia pudding. I’d never made chia pudding but I felt confident I could knock one out with an online recipe as inspiration. He wanted vanilla pudding, gelatinous and chewy in all it’s soaked chia glory. My finished product was scrumptious, so scrumptious in fact, that we ate it immediately before I could snap any pictures. Don’t worry though, I’ll definitely be making it again and will be sure to share it with you all when I do.

In the meantime, I was so blown away by how easy, healthy and decadent chia pudding could be that I started to play with other flavor combinations. Chocolate pudding is my favorite so I knew that would be my next conquest. The recent chilly weather is eliciting cravings in me for toasty beverages. Naturally, hot chocolate sprang to mind when musing over flavors for the pudding. Then the lightning bolt hit. Mexican hot chocolate. Booyah!!

This version of chia pudding isn’t gelatinous as I blend the chia seeds, so even if are a little squeamish around texture and don’t like the viscosity of chia pudding, I promise, you will love this. I sweetened the pudding with dates. It’s incredibly healthy. So healthy, you could eat this pudding guilt free for breakfast. Chocolate pudding for breakfast? Excuse me while I do a happy dance.

Mexican Hot Chocolate Chia Pudding

• 2 cups almond milk
• 4 tbsp cacao powder
• 1/2 cup chia seeds
• 10 pitted medjool dates
• 1 tsp vanilla
• 1/4 tsp salt
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• 1/2- 1 tsp chili powder (depending on how spicy your chili powder is)

1. Soak dates in warm water for 30 minutes to soften.
2. Once dates are soft, place them along with all other ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until well combined and pudding is smooth.
3. Pour into a sealable container (I used a mason jar) and refrigerate overnight to set.

Voila! Enjoy your healthy chocolate indulgence. Go ahead, lick the bowl and feel good about it. 😊
IMG_3065.JPG

One thought on “Vegan Mexican Hot Chocolate Chia Pudding

Leave a Reply

