I’m a wine drinking, F bomb dropping, high heel wearing, maca and hemp seed eating granola girl.

I’m a wine drinking, F bomb dropping, high heel wearing, maca and hemp seed eating granola girl.

Urban Dictionary defines Granola Girl as: Modern hippy woman minus the heroin and STD’s. Socially aware and active with a penchant for hemp and sodium-free soap. May eat tofu for breakfast and sweeten food with agave syrup. Is determined to save the world.

If you’ve been following my posts, you’ve likely labeled me as such and with good reason. I eat more seeds than a bird, refuse to wear deodorant, don’t have cleaning chemicals in the house and I use the word ‘manifest’ at least 10 times a day. Case closed right? I am a granola girl… but it’s not all that I am.

I had some reservations about starting a blog. I love to write so it seemed a natural fit but I worried that I might be too all over the map to connect with an audience. I’ve heard that the most important thing for a writer to have is a distinct point of view. So even though I had some trouble defining myself by any one thing, I urged myself to pick a theme for my blog and find my voice. I asked myself, what do I love? What could I write about nearly everyday? The answer came fairly quickly, health and wellness. I am a certified massage therapist, a health food nut and a homemade cleaning/beauty product enthusiast. A perfect fit right? Yes… but what about the other layers of my being? I’m not just an upbeat, health conscious stay at home mom. I’m also a snarky, sarcastic trouble maker. I love to wear furry, neon outfits and dance all night. I love to dine out. I love to drink wine, too much sometimes. I swear, like a sailor. And although I’m grateful to have spent the past 18 months at home raising my daughter, I can’t wait to go back to work again. This dichotomy brings up questions for me as a writer.

Is there room for me to include that part of myself in a health blog? Will it confuse people or convolute my message? In order to have a strong voice in this forum, is it necessary for me to fit nicely into a healthy little box? Can I share my favorite hangover remedy or about my adventures in a small town burlesque troupe? How about that in order to maintain my sanity during a heinous day of screaming and crying, I sat my 18 month old in front of ‘Peppa Pig’ for an hour while I hid from her in my room? Does that make me a hypocrite? Do I still have integrity as a healthy hippie mama blogger?

I think the blanket answer to my questions is this; In order for my blog to be a cathartic experience for me and hopefully uplifting for others, I must come from a place of unadulterated honesty. I have to be myself, pure and simple. I can’t share just one part of me, I have to share it all. I need to let it all hang out, even on my worst days. That’s the good stuff, that’s real life. I am a positive, health conscious, loving mother, who occasionally drinks too much, inhales In N’Out on a road trip and thinks about throwing her daughter out the window during a melt down. We are all complicated, multifaceted creatures. That’s what is so beautiful about being human! Boxes do not become us. I just can’t limit myself to being just one kind of writer/mama/person. Can you?

4 thoughts on “I’m a wine drinking, F bomb dropping, high heel wearing, maca and hemp seed eating granola girl.

  1. I love this! It reminded me of a blog entry I posted a couple years ago… http://anaboreal.wordpress.com/?s=Paradoxical+living&submit=Search
    Isn’t there a saying “When the shoe fits…” ? Well I like to wear all kinds of shoes, and switch them up according to my mood πŸ™‚ Hippies in heels and conservatives in birkenstocks, yes, those two co-exist and might even be able to borrow shoes from one another.
    Thanks for keeping it real πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

