Homemade Dill Pickles.

Homemade Dill Pickles.

It’s official, I’m never buying pickles again. Making your own is so stinking easy that paying for store bought pickles just feels wrong. The process literally takes 10 minutes. Chop cucumber, heat vinegar mixture, add it all together in a mason jar and store in fridge for a few days. If I’d known how simple it was I’d have been making pickles ages ago. Plus, being the control freak that I am, I just love that I know exactly what is going in there. I made plain old dill pickles this time but next time I’m going to get creative… I’m dreaming up a mix of indian spices for my next pickle concoction. Stay tuned for that!

Dill Pickles

Ingredients:

• 5 Persian cucumbers
*I get mine from Trader Joes. I use Persian because they are conveniently small. Less work for me! Just cut in half and you have perfect pickles!*
• 1/2 bunch dill
• 4-6 cloves garlic
• 1 1/4 cups distilled white vinegar
• 1 1/2 cups water
• 1 tbsp sugar
• 1/2 tsp salt
• black pepper

Process:

1. Cut your cucumbers to your preferred pickle size
IMG_3488.JPG
2. Chop dill

IMG_3490.JPG
3. Peel garlic cloves
4. In a large saucepan, combine vinegar, water, sugar and salt.

IMG_3489.JPG
5. Bring everything to a simmer and let sugar dissolve.
6. Pour warm mixture over cucumbers, dill and garlic.
7. Grind black pepper over everything, seal jar and put in fridge for 3 days or more before enjoying.

IMG_3491.JPG

NOTE* I couldn’t wait more than 3 days to try them and although they were tasty, they definitely needed more time. They were lacking a little vinegar kick. Leave sealed in jar for 4-5 days before diving in.

Happy Pickling lovers!

Leave a Reply

