Raw Olive Bread

Raw Olive Bread

I remember the reactions I got when I first went gluten free. Mild annoyance was the most common reaction but certain loved ones looked at me like I had shot them through the heart. These days not only am I gluten free but the amount of refined sugar I eat is practically nil, I barely touch red meat and I’ve upped my raw foods by a large margin. The eye rolls I endure are many but the bottom line is, I eat what makes me feel good. Period.

I do understand why some people have an aversion to health food. When not done properly, healthy often means bland, dry and boring. So this weekend when I offered my good friends my Raw Olive Bread, I wasn’t surprised when they were a bit skeptical. I’m sure the word ‘Raw’ immediately conjured up an image of flavorless cardboard. One bite is all it took to change their mind.

I had a hankering for some olive bread a month or so ago and decided that I would try to make my own raw version. I tried a recipe that I found online and I wasn’t crazy about the results. So I played with it quite a bit and came up with a version that I am super proud of and completely in love with. I now have this bread in my fridge at all times. It’s a wonderful texture, packed with flavor and is so high in fiber that your bowel movements will become more regular from eating just a slice or two a day. Hooray for pooping!

Raw Olive Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 cups ground flax seed
  • 1 cup ground sunflower seed
  • 1 cup sun dried tomato
  • 30 olives
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 large carrot chopped
  • 1 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 1/3 cup psyllium husk
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup water

Process

  1. Grind flax seeds in coffee grinder
  2. Grind sunflower seeds in coffee grinder
  3. Add ground seeds together in a large bowl
  4. Combine all ingredients, except for a large handful of olives, to food processor (if you don’t own a food processor, a blender will work just fine) and process
  5. Transfer above mixture to bowl with seeds and stir until well combined
  6. Now add the handful of olives that you set aside earlier and gently mix everything together with your hands
  7. Allow mixture to thicken for 20 minutes or so
  8. Shape mixture into a loaf with your hands.
  9. Cut into slices and place in your dehydrator on 105.
  10. Dehydrate for 6 hours.

*NOTE: If you don’t have a dehydrator but have an oven with a ‘warming’ setting that allows you to set the temperature below 115 degrees, you can do that instead!
IMG_3740.JPG

IMG_3741.JPG

IMG_3745.JPG

4 thoughts on “Raw Olive Bread

Leave a Reply

