DIY Natural Blush and Lip Gloss

DIY Natural Blush and Lip Gloss

Makeup and I have had a long tumultuous relationship. I first met eyeliner in middle school and after a few years of abusing it mercilessly, dumped it for globs of chunky mascara and bright pink lip gloss. It took me until after high school to finally start treating my makeup with proper respect and these days I finally feel like we enjoy a symbiotic relationship. I’ve learned that a little goes a long way to helping me feel put together. A swipe of mascara, a slight blush on my cheek, a glossy tinted lip and voila! I’m ready for my day. I’m not one who enjoys the look of heavily pigmented makeup, I feel like I get lost in it. I want something that highlights my natural glow without making me look clownish or clogging my pores full of chemicals. The solution? Beets and hibiscus! They offer gorgeous color and are completely natural. Plus you can add a few different natural ingredients to lighten, darken and/or add a boost of shimmer.

To make your all natural blush and lip stain you are going to need beet root powder as your base. You can acquire this one of two ways. You can make it or you can buy it. I made my beet powder by slicing a beet very thin and then dehydrating for 8-10 hours on 115 or until crispy.
IMG_3244.JPG
IMG_3841.JPG
I then threw dehydrated beets in a coffee grinder to form a powder.

IMG_3842.JPG

IMG_3843.JPG
If you don’t have a dehydrator, you can buy beet root powder here. You can also purchase hibiscus powder and/arrowroot from this company. They are wonderful! They offer high quality products and ship quickly.

Now that you have your beet root powder,

IMG_3844.JPG
you can add things to it to change the shade.

Cacao will darken your blush.

IMG_3845.JPG
Arrowroot powder will lighten your blush.

IMG_3846.JPG
Hibiscus powder will change it to a different pink.

IMG_3849.JPG

Ginger powder will add shimmer to any shade

The possibilities are endless here. Play around and you will find a shade perfect for you. You can store these in airtight containers in the fridge for a few months and use as a powder blush, or you can use this powder blush to make a cream blush/lip stain.

Ingredients

• 2 tsp Beet root powder

• 1 tsp organic Shea butter

• 1 tsp organic Beeswax

• 1/2 tsp organic Rosehip oil

*1-2 drops of essential oil for scent – I used grapefruit. This is totally optional

Process

1. In a double boiler on low heat (if you don’t have one, put a glass bowl over the top of a kettle) melt your shea butter, beeswax and rosehip oil together.

IMG_3850.JPG
2. Once melted, add your beet root powder and stir until thoroughly combined.

IMG_3852.JPG
3. Pour your mixture through a cheesecloth to strain out any gritty particles.

IMG_3853.JPG
4. Repeat this process until all beet particles are gone and you are left with a smooth finished product.

5. Place into small airtight container and allow to cool.

IMG_3856.JPG
Once cooled, your lip stain/cream blush is ready.

IMG_3854.JPG
Enjoy your chemical free glow!!

IMG_3857.JPG

2 thoughts on “DIY Natural Blush and Lip Gloss

Leave a Reply

