Vegan Kabocha Milkshake

Vegan Kabocha Milkshake

IMG_3886.JPGKabocha. What in the world is it and how in the world do you pronounce it?? A few weeks ago I had no idea myself. When the hubby brought this wacky looking thing home from the grocery store, I was slightly intimidated. I mean, look at it. How do you even penetrate that sucker? It looks like it needs a machete or a power tool, neither of which I happen to own. So I asked him, ‘What should we do with this prehistoric looking pumpkin?’ ‘It’s not a pumpkin’, he said. ‘It’s a kombucha squash.’ A kombucha squash?? This thing just keeps getting more and more interesting! Is it fermented? Does it taste like vinegar? This squash elicits many questions…After further investigation, I learned that it is Kabocha, not Kombucha and it IS a pumpkin, a Japanese pumpkin to be exact. Alright, one step closer to unlocking the mysteries of this intriguing vegetable. Now I just needed to get inside. With much trepidation, I tried cutting it open. The exterior is just as hard and unforgiving as it looks; I decided that instead of risking a trip to the ER, I would throw it in the oven whole. Once cooked it just kind of fell apart and I was able to easily peel it and scoop out the seeds. Eureka!

Now… what to do with it? A taste test revealed a flavor and texture very similar to butternut squash. My first thought was muffins but I’ve been going a little crazy with baked goods lately… I wanted to try something a little different. The squash was creamy with a slight sweetness to it. What do I love that is sweet and creamy? Ah yes. A milkshake! Now I’m inspired. Best of all, I know I already have everything I need to really hit this out of the park. 🙂

This recipe calls for almond milk ice cubes to help create the thickness and creaminess of a traditional milkshake. If you want to use regular ice cubes that is totally fine too.

Vegan Kabocha Milkshake

Ingredients

  • 2 cups roasted kabocha squash (equivalent to one medium size squash)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 6 almond milk ice cubes (or regular)
  • 4 medjool dates
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp all spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch salt

Process

  1. Roast kabocha squash on 400 for 45 minutes.
  2. Once squash has completely cooled, scoop out seeds, discard skin and place in blender
  3. Add all other ingredients except ice cubes and blend until smooth.
  4. Add ice cubes and blend again. *If shake is too thick, add more almond milk.
  5. Once shake is at your desired consistency, pour into a glass for two, sprinkle a little extra cinnamon on top and share with a loved one or happily gorge out on this decadence all by yourself. ❤

IMG_3885.JPG

This.was.awesome. I nommed it for lunch and was so very satisfied…it filled me up for hours. I felt like I was getting away with something. A milkshake for lunch? Oh yes. This shake is packed full of good fats, fiber and beta carotene, a powerful antioxidant and anti inflammatory, so you can you can feel good about indulging in it. I didn’t miss the dairy at all. The texture was rich and velvety and the flavor was reminiscent of pumpkin pie. You can thank the cashews and ice cubes for the creaminess of this Vegan shake. Now that I understand the formula I’m envisioning a spin on chocolate milk shakes in my future… ❤

Leave a Reply

