Ease teething pain naturally

Ease teething pain naturally

Hell hath no fury like an 18 month old cutting 4 molars at once. These last few months, I’ve traded in sleep for coffee. Good thing I like coffee. Lack of sleep = lack of coherence. If you find this post disjointed, now you know why. Sleep is really good for brains. I’ll bet in the case of a zombie apocalypse my pickled cerebrum would be in no immediate danger.

Procreating. What a trip. Being a mother has elicited emotions in me that I simply didn’t know existed. Did you know it was possible to feel seething anger and total loving sympathy for someone at the very same instant? For while my sweet baby is in agonizing pain that I very much sympathize with, I am congruently dealing with an unreasonable, sleepless, manic breastfeeding monster, sporting newly sprouted teeth to bite me with. And she does bite.

But really how can you stay annoyed with this little face… You can’t. You just can’t.

IMG_3778.JPG

This snarly little face is so precious to me. I wasn’t prepared for how much I would adore my child. I mean, I figured I’d love my baby but until I actually made her and watched her grow up and morph into this awesome little person who says I love you and counts to three… well words are empty and completely insufficient in expressing it. My heart explodes every day and every day I put the pieces back together only to have it break open again. Loving someone like this is exhausting… especially when you hate them sometimes. But you could never hate her, I mean… LOOK at her.

IMG_3944.JPG

Anyway, back on course brain! Her teeth… and her poor swollen little gums… and my pickled brain. I’ll do nearly anything to help soothe her pain and get my family some sleep. Because I am the tree hugging hippie that I am, I prefer to find a natural alternative to benzocaine. In my sleepless desperation, I’ve been trying all the remedies out there. Here are the three that have helped:

Barley water: Barley has natural antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties and is super easy to make. Soak 1 cup of barley overnight and then cook barley with 2 1/3 cups of water for about 15 minutes. Drain excess cooking water and save. Once it has cooled you can either just rub some on inflamed gums or much more fun, use it to make teething popsicles! Here is a rad little recipe if you’re interested.

Chamomile oil: Also naturally antiseptic and anti-inflammatory as well as very soothing. We’ve rubbed some of this oil on her gums in the middle of the night and after hours of being up she is finally able to conk out.

German chamomile hydrosol:  A hydrosol is essentially flower water, or the stream distillate of the plant matter. Hydrosols are like essential oils but are far less concentrated, therefore they can be used undiluted on skin. I’ve used this hydrosol on her diaper rash and on her gums and have noticed a instant calming effect, both in her disposition and topically.

Our earth provides. It’s incredible how healing plants can be. I’m hoping these methods can bring your baby some relief and you even a few hours of sleep. Speaking of, my brain is officially shutting down. Over and out.

Leave a Reply

