Gluten Free Banana Muffins

Gluten Free Banana Muffins

Bananas are always in my house. They are nutritious, easy to grab for a filling snack and up until a few days ago, one of my girl’s favorite fruits. Oh toddlers, such fickle tastes. Now she has decided she wants nothing to do with them. This leaves me with too many bananas and not enough mouths to eat them. What to do with over ripe bananas? Muffins. Naturally.

I’ve been baking so much this Fall that dare I say, I’m becoming quite good at it. I haven’t been following recipes for the first time… ever. I’ve just been understanding my ingredients and playing. It feels nice to appreciate and acknowledge my growing skill in the kitchen. I’m usually my harshest critic. I must be growing up. 🙂

Preparing wholesome food for my family has been fulfilling me more than I anticipated. I’m having loads of fun. Being able to fill the bellies of the people you love while keeping them healthy is extremely satisfying. These banana muffins are equally satisfying. My daughter calls them cake. Sure babe, enjoy your buckwheat banana cake for breakfast. I’ll happily keep this healthy little secret to myself. 😉

Gluten Free Banana Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups overripe bananas (equivalent of about 3 large bananas)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup Gluten free all purpose flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill which is a mixture of garbanzo, white sorghum, fava bean and tapioca flours.)
  • 1/4 cup mesquite flour
  • 1/2 cup ghee (butter will work too, or use a full 1 cup coconut oil to substitute)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Process:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mash up bananas in a large bowl
  3. Melt coconut oil and ghee together in a double boiler
  4. Add melted oil, eggs, honey and vanilla to bananas
  5. Mix all wet ingredients until well combined
  6. Sift all dry ingredients together, reserving cacao nibs, until they are well combined
  7. Pour dry ingredients into bowl with wet ingredients and mix until smooth
  8. Add cacao nibs and gently mix together
  9. Place muffin liners into muffin pan and pour batter into each one, filling to the top
  10. Bake for 15 minutes
  11. Once cooled, let your mouth delight in your accomplishments. ❤

IMG_3952.JPG
It’s raining today. From my warm couch, I happily watch the fat drops replenish our thirsty planet as I enjoy my muffin with a hot cup of tea. They are sweet but not overly so, just like I like them. The buckwheat adds a nice boost of fiber and helps you stay satiated longer. The cacao nibs add a perfect crunch and slight bitterness that nicely rounds out the sweet banana flavor. My family loves them. I hope you love them too.

IMG_3967.JPG
Ah contentment. I can’t think of anywhere else I’d rather be right now. Days spent indoors, all cozy and cuddly with fresh home baked goodies. Isn’t Fall just the best?

One thought on “Gluten Free Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

