Carrot Potato soup

Carrot Potato soup

I’ve been making this hearty, nutritious, insanely delicious soup for awhile now. It’s probably my favorite soup of all time, so I make it quite a lot. It’s perfect for when you don’t feel like cooking but want the satisfaction of a home cooked meal. It’s super simple to prepare and has always impressed my dinner party guests. I picked up the recipe from a cleanse that I participated in a few years ago. The initial recipe was fairly bare bones as it was created to cleanse you. 🙂 Coconut oil, water, onions, ginger, carrots and ume plum vinegar. I loved it so much that once I was off my cleanse I started to build upon it and it became a weekly staple in my home. If you haven’t tried ume plum vinegar I would definitely recommend it. It’s got a slightly sour, slightly sweet, very salty flavor that can add such a delightful flavor profile to soups, dressings, marinades, etc. A little goes a long way with this stuff so don’t overdo it. I find I can usually omit most of the salt from the recipe if I’m using this vinegar.

Carrot Potato Soup– This fed 2 adults and a toddler for one dinner and lunch the next dayIMG_4541.JPG

Ingredients (I use organic produce 95+% of the time, sometimes it’s unnecessary, stay tuned for an article going into more depth on that.)

  • 4 cups bone broth (I use bone broth because of how nutritionally dense it is, you can substitute veggie broth or water to make this vegan)
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp ghee (you can use butter if you don’t have ghee or for a vegan option , omit and up your coconut oil by 2 tbsp)
  • 5 large carrots
  • 1 medium peeled russet potato (sweet potato would be delicious too)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 inches of peeled ginger
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1-2 tbsp ume plum vinegar, depending on how much salt you use
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

Process

  1. Chop up all of your veggies, garlic and ginger
  2. Heat coconut oil and ghee in a large pot on medium heat
  3. Once hot, place onions in pot and saute for 5 minutes or until translucent
  4. Add the rest of your veggies including ginger and garlic, salt as desired
  5. Mix and cook all together for 5 more minutes
  6. Add the 4 cups of whatever liquid you are using and raise the heat to high
  7. Once boiling, turn down heat to low, place lid on pot and simmer for 20 minutes.
  8. Once done simmering, take off heat and add ume plum vinegar and more salt if needed and pepper as desired
  9. With a hand held immersion blender, blend soup until smooth and creamy (If you don’t have an immersion blender, use a regular blender)
  10. Transfer soup to bowls and enjoy!

IMG_4539.JPG

Leave a Reply

