Sweet Potato Truffles

Sweet Potato Truffles

I love sweet potato, as you all know, but muffins were getting a little tired. Luckily, as I was driving (when many of my good ideas strike) a lightning bolt of genius hit me. Sweet potato truffles. After 10 minutes or so of daydreaming, I had the recipe completely dialed. I was so impressed with my ingenuity! As soon as I got home I checked online to see if I was as original as I thought and my bubble was quickly deflated. Already been created. Ah well. My truffle recipe came to me organically in a moment of divine inspiration. That’s good enough for me! πŸ˜€ Plus, they are super duper tasty, which in the end is all that matters anyway, isn’t it?

Sweet Potato Truffles

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup baked sweet potato (one medium sweet potato)
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 + tbsp maple syrup (I used 1 tbsp and it was just slightly sweet, perfect for me)
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch nutmeg
  • *2 tbsp mesquite flour
  • *optional

Process

  1. Bake sweet potato on 400 for 35-40 minutes
  2. Add baked sweet potato sans skin along with all other ingredients to food processor.
  3. Process until all ingredients are combined and nice and smooth
  4. Roll out ‘dough’ into balls a little smaller than a golfball – my recipe made 26 truffles
  5. Place truffles on a plate and put in freezer to set for about 20 minutesIMG_4603
  6. Once they are set, dip truffles in whatever toppings you’d like. I used cacao powder, ground coconut flakes and my homemade chocolate.IMG_4598-0.JPG

These truffles were yummy, nutritious, fairly easy to make and so pretty! I needed some help with clean up so I enlisted my little elf. She’s good at cleaning chocolately bowls. ❀

IMG_4587.JPG

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Truffles

Leave a Reply

