Sweet Potato Quinoa Power Cookies

Sweet Potato Quinoa Power Cookies

Hello all! I hope your holiday was merry and bright. Mine was lovely. Lots of friends, lots of family, lots of sweet holiday spirit. I’ve had a wonderful few days but I’m thrilled to be home again without anything pressing on the calendar for a while. What do I do with a little down time? Organize! I spent all of yesterday and part of today cleaning out our home, giving away the old to make room for the new. My entire house is clean, I’ve even organized the closets. It was such an incredible cleansing of the physical realm that I feel cleansed mentally and spiritually as well. Now I’m all ready to blaze into 2015, a few pounds lighter. 🙂

In the midst of all of this cleaning, I got hungry. Off to the kitchen I went. After giving it a good scrubbing, I scoured the fridge for goodies. I abhor letting food go to waste so I was thrilled to throw together this tasty little power ‘cookie’ with the random leftovers I discovered. My daughter and husband gobbled it up happily and asked for more… this makes it a win in my book. Although it’s packed with wholesome ingredients like sweet potato, quinoa, buckwheat and garbanzo flour, it’s also filled to the brim with yummy flavor. It’s a little dense, not quite as chewy and moist as a classic dessert cookie but the sheer volume of nutritious ingredients and tastiness makes up for that in my opinion. 😉

Sweet Potato Quinoa Power Cookie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked sweet potato
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free AP flour (mainly garbanzo flour)
  • 2 tbsp mesquite flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 3 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place cooked sweet potato, cooked quinoa, melted coconut oil, eggs, almond milk and vanilla extract in a medium bowl and mix until well combined.
  3. Place flours, mesquite powder, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl and mix together.
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix together until well combined.
  5. Add chocolate chips to batter and fold in gently with a spatula
  6. Grease cookie sheet with preferred oil and using a cookie scoop, place scoops of batter on cookie sheet leaving a few inches between each cookie.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes
  8. Allow to cool before diving in. I seem to make this mistake every time. A big shout out to the roof of my mouth for taking the abuse like a champ. 😉

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/712/73322791/files/2014/12/img_4809.jpg

Leave a Reply

