Celery Onion Soup

Celery Onion Soup

I’m one of those nutty people who adores celery. I like it so much that I’d prefer if you didn’t muck it up with peanut butter or cheese or ranch dressing or any of the other toppings that most people turn to to make celery palatable. I love it just as it is, in its crunchy, fibrous, earthy perfection. I realize that I am in the minority. This last weekend I had a 20 minute conversation at a good friend’s birthday party about how much this particular group of people disliked celery. They all agreed that they had trouble getting it down without covering it in gobs of something else. I recently found an article written exclusively about the author’s seething hatred for this delicious and endlessly nutritious vegetable. Looking for a good laugh? Check it out here. My husband belongs to the ‘not so crazy about celery’ club. He’ll eat it but he definitely won’t be doing a happy dance about it. Just why are so many adverse to this nutritionally dense stick of deliciousness? It’s beyond me, really.

As most of us can agree, winter is the season for soup. Soup is warming, soup is comforting, soup is a wonderful way to pack a bunch of nutrition into one pot. My favorite thing about making soup? Clean up is virtually nonexistent. How cool is it to have only 1 pot and 2 bowls to clean after bopping around in the kitchen for an hour or more? So very cool.

So, on a recent particularly chilly day, I decided to marry my love of soup and my love of celery. When I told my sweetheart of a hubby that I’d be making celery soup for dinner, he so tried to put on a happy face… but his underlying disappointment didn’t get past me. I let him wallow in his trepidation a bit while I went to work on changing his mind.

Celery Onion Soup

Ingredients

  • 7 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 large leek, finely chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 large shallot, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup ghee (Use butter or coconut oil if you’d prefer)
  • 4 cups bone broth (I recommend using homemade broth for increased depth of flavor and nutrition boost, use regular chicken broth if you prefer. Use veggie broth or water to make this vegetarian)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Process

  1. In a large pot, melt ghee on medium to high heat.
  2. Add all the different onions, garlic, salt, pepper and garlic powder and sauté for 10 minutes or so, stirring every couple of minutes.
  3. Add celery and cook for another 4-5 minutes or until tender
  4. Add broth and bring to a boil.
  5. Once boiling, reduce heat to low and simmer for 40-45 minutes.
  6. Using an immersion blender, (if you don’t own one, use a standing blender, blending in batches) purée soup until smooth and creamy.
  7. Add sour cream and whisk together until just combined.
  8. Season with more salt and pepper to taste

celery soup

This soup was a home run. I topped it with some *gluten-free croutons and Hubby eagerly gobbled it up. He was very impressed and graciously made sure I knew it. ‘Babe, this is ridiculously good. I was a little worried when you told me we were having celery soup. I shouldn’t have been. This blew my mind.’ If I can blow his mind with a soup made with 7 whole stalks of celery, I’m pretty sure I can do anything…

*Gluten free croutons were made by chopping up half of this gluten-free baguette into little crouton shaped bites. Cook in a pan with ghee and salt for about 8 minutes or until they start to nicely crisp.*

6 thoughts on “Celery Onion Soup

    1. It is sooooo yummy! Marvel ate a few bites. She wasnt crazy about it but she’s been hating all vegetables lately, really. Super frustrating! I’m sure it’s just another phase she’ll grow out of soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

