Gluten Free Carrot Cake Bites with Vegan ‘Cream Cheese’ Frosting

Gluten Free Carrot Cake Bites with Vegan ‘Cream Cheese’ Frosting

These happy little morsels were a total accident. I set out to make a granola bar. When the batter was ready, I felt a wave of laziness wash over me. Laying out the dough, pressing it down evenly so it could then be cut into squares… So much work. I could be sprawled out on the couch reading my book right now.

2015/01/img_5148.jpg Scooping little cookies out would be so much quicker, so that’s what I did. How often does laziness beget something awesome? Not often enough, dammit!

Once these tasty little bites were out of the oven and cooled just enough to stuff my face with, I realized that they boasted a delicious carrot cake flavor. I knew right away that I had to create a frosting… carrot cake without frosting isn’t carrot cake at all. It just isn’t. My big plans for lazing about would just have to wait, because although good, these ‘cookies’ had the potential to be something great and my greedy little taste buds just couldn’t pass that up.

My frosting is vegan and free of refined sugar. Maple syrup sweetens it up nicely. The lemon juice and zest adds the perfect tang that, in my opinion, carrot cake frosting simply must have. Tapioca flour stiffens it up the way that powdered sugar would, without it you’d have more of a sauce than a frosting. Behold, my accidental gluten carrot cake bite with vegan frosting,

2015/01/img_5149.jpg

Gluten Free Carrot Cake Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup cooked squash (I used buttercup, nearly any winter squash would work well in this recipe)
  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1/3 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/3 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Process

  1. Bake squash on 400 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour
  2. Lower oven to 375 degrees
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the cooled squash, almond butter and eggs until well combined
  4. Add in all other ingredients and mix together until just combined
  5. Scoop balls of batter using a cookie scoop and place on greased cookie sheet, leaving a bit of space between each cookie
  6. Bake for 18 minutes
  7. Let cool while making your frosting

Vegan ‘Cream Cheese’ Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cashews, soaked, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp tapioca flour
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Process

  1. I would suggest soaking cashews for 4-6 hours in order to ensure that they blend easily
  2. Add all ingredients to a high speed blender and blend on high until frosting is completely combined and starts to look thick and creamy
  3. Set frosting in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours
  4. Frost your carrot cake bites however makes sense for you. I used an empty ketchup bottle to frost mine, I was feeling crafty. Any implement would work, hell you could even just dip the bites into the frosting if you are feeling frisky.
  5. Devour!!

DSC_1303

DSC_1310

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Carrot Cake Bites with Vegan ‘Cream Cheese’ Frosting

Leave a Reply

