Life after Facebook

Life after Facebook

I did it. I actually did it. I wasn’t sure if I was capable of doing it but here I am, an anomaly, a 30 year old American woman, without a Facebook account. When I decided I’d deactivate my account, I gave myself an exit strategy. I’d allow myself two months to prepare mentally and emotionally for my existence without this potent drug. Turns out I didn’t need that. A few nights ago I just… up and had enough. I said my goodbye and deactivated the next morning. I’ve never been one for torture. Just rip off the bandaid quickly, no reason to suffer through each hair being ripped from it’s root slowly. Immediately after I made the final decision to disconnect from the ‘Book’ I started to to feel pangs of regret. My breath became shallow, my heart rate quickened and my palms started to sweat. No joke. I felt like a junkie flushing her stash. I couldn’t believe my body was actually showing visceral signs of withdrawal. Obviously cutting Facebook out of my life was the right decision. The resulting tremors further confirmed my choice.

Since I’ve said goodbye I must admit I’ve gone back to try and check it a few times a day, like rolling over in bed to cuddle your ex lover only to feel a cold empty space beside you. It will take some time to stop reaching for them but that time will inevitably come and with that space you’ll grow stronger then ever before. Until then I’ve been filling those empty spaces with reading, exercise and Instagram. 😉 Hey, a girl needs a little social media outlet from time to time. Overall, I’m feeling so much more productive… and lighter… and happier in general. It’s been lovely. Severing the shackles of Facebook’s grasp was one of the best decisions I’ve made for myself in a long time. Who knew such a small act could make such a large impact in my life? I thought it might be cool to share what I did in preparation of my new Facebook free life. Here they are in no particular order of importance,

Write down important friends birthdays in your calendar.
Facebook’s birthday feature is awesome. It was my favorite part really. Aside from a handful of really close friends, I have a hard time remembering birthdays. Facebook took care of that for me. Now I’m making sure my calendar picks up where Facebook left off. Plus it’s infinitely more personal to get a card, a call or even a text wishing someone a Happy Birthday rather than a generic Facebook post.

Shout out to all your people that you’ll be disconnecting and offer an alternative way to keep in touch.
I gave everyone my Instagram handle and my email address. That way I’m not falling off the face of the earth just the face of the book. 😉

Download any pictures you’d like to access onto your computer.
This was a long, arduous process. Downloading these pics also takes up quite a bit of space on your hard drive but it’s necessary if for whatever reason you have no other copies of your Facebook photos.

Get your creepy stalker fix.
I stalked the crap out of a few people. Who is of no consequence. I had to get it out of my system. Don’t judge me.

There is life after Facebook. I’m proof. Since the ‘break up’ I’ve had a few phone conversations with friends. We chatted for over an hour. I felt like a teenager again. I thought I may have forgotten how to use the call function on my phone but if turns out my fingers work just as well to press number buttons as they do to text and write status updates. Go figure.

XO
Sam

2 thoughts on “Life after Facebook

  1. I deactivated my account for a long time, and then when I felt ready to come back I completely started over. I now have an account that I check when I’m bored, but I have under 100 friends so there’s never too much to see which keeps my visits quick. Way to go getting rid of it, it really is a waste of time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Brittany! It became a big waste of time for me, definitely. I know there are people out there who have a healthy relationship with Facebook- maybe I’ll get there in the future. I think keeping friends low is a great way to decrease the mindless scrolling time. Thank you for the feedback! XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

