Vegan Butter Pecan Ice Cream with Raw Caramel Sauce

Vegan Butter Pecan Ice Cream with Raw Caramel Sauce

Are you salivating yet? Just typing out the title got my mouth watering. Butter pecan is my all time favorite ice cream. Wait, that’s not totally true, coffee is pretty damn high on my favorite list too. Okay, butter pecan and coffee are my two favorites. Hmmm…. but what about salted caramel? I looooooove salted caramel. Then of course there’s trusty vanilla, with it’s simple unpretentious flavor that transports you right back to the good old days of Chinese jump rope, cassette tapes and chasing ice cream trucks in the summer. Ok scratch that. Butter pecan is ONE of my favorites but honestly if it’s cold, creamy, sweet and fits nicely stop a crusty cone, I’m scarfing happily, enjoying my good fortune.

As I mentioned in a post a few weeks back, my darling bought me an ice cream maker for Christmas. Since then I’ve pulled it out twice and attempted to create a vegan chocolate ice cream. Both times the flavor was spot on, and both times the texture was a disaster… well, as much as chocolate soup can be a disaster. It was still sweet, it was still rich, it was still chocolate and we still slurped it right up. Still, a tasty chocolate soup was not what I was after. So after realizing that my instructions were missing (damn trolls!) I looked them up online and got to work a third time on making some killer vegan ice cream. This time…. Success!! Turns out my freezer wasn’t cold enough. Easily remedied and now that it has been, check out this rich, decadent dairy free ice cream right here. You want, right? Of course you do. 😉 Here’s the recipe, lovelies.

DSC_0487

Vegan Butter Pecan Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 1 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup cashews, soaked for 4 hours
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp psyllium husk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup pecans

Process

  1. Soak cashews for 4 hours. If you don’t have that long, you can heat the water before you soak the nuts, that will soften them quicker.
  2. Place all ingredients, except the pecans, in a high speed blender and blend until thick and creamy
  3. Transfer to a mixing bowl, cover and refrigerate until chilled – 3-4 hours.
  4. Once chilled, pour into pre-chilled ice cream maker bowl and make according to directions.
  5. While ice cream mixture is chilling, toast your pecans.
  6. Roughly chop pecans and place in skillet.
  7. Heat until pecans just become fragrant

I think we can all agree, ice cream is plenty good enough on it’s own but I think it’s exponentially better with the right topping. It just so happened that I had a jar of caramel sauce sitting in the fridge waiting for the perfect vehicle to showcase it’s brilliance. What better vehicle is there for caramel than ice cream? None other than my mouth maybe and my mouth got plenty of it during the creating process. My mouth really has the best job! This caramel sauce is pretty epic. I’ve been dipping into the jar more often than I’d like to admit. I just can’t help myself! It’s rich and creamy and the flavor while touting the obvious caramel notes, also reminds me of a gourmet nougat. I die! So good. I hope you will all enjoy this as much as I do. I have other delicacies in mind to create with this caramel in the future. There are no limits to what it can do. 🙂

Raw Caramel Sauce

DSC_0431

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 almond milk
  • 4 dates soaked in 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 3 tbsp mesquite powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch salt

Process

  1. Soak dates for 30 minutes to an hour
  2. Place all ingredients including date water in high speed blender
  3. Pour on ice cream, use as a dip for fruit or just use a spoon and dig in!
  4. Store in refrigerator in an airtight container
  5. The coconut oil will solidify in the cold so let it sit out in a warm area to get all melty again, or use a double boiler to gently warm

 

Get to work on making your tastebuds happy.
XO
Sam

DSC_0523DSC_0507  DSC_0525

 

6 thoughts on “Vegan Butter Pecan Ice Cream with Raw Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

