Gluten Free Chocolate Cake with Vegan Chocolate Frosting  

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake with Vegan Chocolate Frosting  

Today, I had a flash back of a really sweet moment in my childhood. I was 8 maybe 9, sitting at our dinner table with my brother, 6 and sister, still in diapers; chocolate smeared our faces as we chugged down ice cold milk. The milk was always ice cold in our house. My mother insisted it be so. Although I don’t drink cows milk anymore, I’d still have to agree with her; milk tastes best just before it freezes and accompanied by chocolate. Always. 

In this instance the chocolate that lined our smiling mouths was frosting from a chocolate cake. This seemingly insignificant memory danced around my head all morning. I could smell the frosting, I could feel the crumble of the cake in my mouth. It was slowly driving me mad! I knew I had to make one. 

The cake of my memories was a boxed Betty Crocker creation, no doubt. My mama was never much of a baker. I was inspired to create my own take on the delicious yet overly processed box version. It had been awhile since I used butter and sugar to create anything. In the interest of health, I’ve been going for coconut oil in lieu of butter and honey or maple syrup to substitute granulated sugar when baking. Although I believe the flavor rarely suffers with these substitutions, the texture inevitably does. Sugar and butter can create a more tender, moist baked good. For this cake, I wanted to create something as close to the original as I could get while using organic whole foods to make it happen. I think I succeeded. Here’s what I did,  

(Recipe adapted from Tasting Table)

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake with Vegan Chocolate Frosting 

Ingredients:         

Chocolate Cake:

  • 1 cup cacao powder
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 4 oz unsweetened baking chocolate 
  • 2 cups gluten free all propose flour (I made my own using 1/2 cup potato starch, 3/4 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup sorghum flour and 1/4 cup teff flour)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda 
  • 1 1/2 sticks grass fed butter, kerrygold is my all time favorite. 
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut sugar 
  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 cup goat milk

Vegan Chocolate Frosting



  • 8 oz unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped 
  • The cream from one can of coconut milk, refrigerated overnight or frozen for a few hours
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 8 tbsp coconut oil 
  • 2 tsp vanilla 

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees 
  2. Grease two 9-inch cake pans with oil or butter of choice and dust with cocoa powder, tapping out the excess.
  3. In a small bowl, stir the cocoa powder with the water until you form a paste.
  4. Using a double boiler or a small glass bowl atop a tea kettle, melt your 12 oz total of baking chocolate 
  5. Mix flour, baking soda and salt together well in a large bowl
  6. Using a stand mixer or an electric hand mixer, beat the sugar and butter together until smooth. 
  7. While still beating, add one egg at a time to butter and sugar mixture. 
  8. Lower beater speed and add cacao powder paste and melted chocolate
  9. Add flour and milk a bit a time to ensure mixture doesn’t get too chunky and combines well 
  10. Place batter evenly into greased cake pans 
  11. Place in middle of oven for 30 minutes
  12. Meanwhile make frosting – Take can of coconut milk out of fridge/freezer and scoop out the separated coconut cream from the top.
  13. In a small saucepan over medium heat, warm the coconut cream and sugar, stirring often until the sugar dissolves, about 2 to 3 minutes
  14. Place the remaining 8 oz of chopped chocolate in a medium-large bowl.
  15. Pour the warm cream over the chocolate and let sit for 2 to 3 minutes or until the chocolate begins to soften. Whisk until smooth and allow to sit for another 5 to 7 minutes to cool slightly.
  16. Whisk the coconut oil into the chocolate, adding 1 tbsp at a time and whisking until it’s blended in before adding the next.
  17. Let frosting set in the refrigerator for an hour or so before taking out and adding cacao powder, milk and vanilla. 
  18. Using an electric beater, mix cacao powder and milk into frosting until it becomes thick and creamy 
  19. To assemble the cake, place one of the cake layers bottom-side up on a cake plate or platter. Using an offset metal spatula, ice with about 1 cup of the frosting. Place the second layer, also bottom-side up, on top of the frosting. Spread the remaining frosting over the sides and top of the entire cake. 
  20. Dig in! Preferably with a cold glass of milk, I prefer the almond variety. 😉 DSC_0052
4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Cake with Vegan Chocolate Frosting  

    1. Hi Ema! Yes! That would be delicious. It would go well in the frosting or the cake itself. If you decide to put it into the cake, gently fold the coconut flakes into batter just before you put cakes into the oven. XO

      Like

Leave a Reply

