Devilishly Delicious Angelic Eggs 

Devilishly Delicious Angelic Eggs 

I’m a big proponent of morning rituals. Starting my day with healthy routines can calm and center me for the busyness that lies ahead. I begin nearly every morning with at least 5-10 minutes of Vipassana meditation. I then enjoy a glass of room temperature water with lemon to get my digestive juices flowing. Next is breakfast. My daughter and I both adore eggs. She prefers hers scrambled, I prefer mine over medium. Two eggs with a thick golden runny yolk, dripping over a slice of perfectly toasted whole grain gluten free bread, slathered with ghee and chia seeds? Oh baby. My belly is happy, I’m happy, everyone around me is happy. 🙂

Although a nice consistent morning routine centers me, the adventurer in me gets restless every once in awhile. So this morning I was inspired to get a little creative. Wanting to stick with eggs, as I’ve noticed they provide me with the best fuel for my morning, I decided on deviled. I adore me some deviled eggs. If you ever happen to find yourself at a party with me and a platter of deviled eggs and you fancy a few for yourself, I’d advise not leaving them sitting around for too long. I have absolutely no self control around those things. I’ll have popped 6 of them before you take your first bite. I may have a bit of a problem. Is there a Deviled Eggs Anonymous? No, I think not. That acronym’s already been taken after all and I doubt advertising a DEA meeting would attract very many attendees. ANYHOO…

Although I do love the little buggers as they are, in all their mayo slathered glory, I decided to play around with a more wholesome version that would still dazzle the taste buds. I think what I came up with will excite you, I’m certainly a little twitterpated by them.   😉

Devilishly Delicious Angelic Eggs

DSC_0848

Ingredients

  • 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled and cut lengthwise
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 cup plain goat yogurt
  • 3 tsp Apple cider vinegar
  • 4 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 5 pepperoncinis finely chopped, I like this all natural brand

Process

  1. Once hard boiled eggs are cool, remove egg yolks from egg whites and place in a medium bowl. 
  2. Add in all other ingredients except pepperoncinis.
  3. Using a hand mixer on low, beat until smooth and creamy
  4. Add in pepperoncinis and gently incorporate with a spoon. 
  5. Fill the hollow egg white halves with egg yolk mixture. If you have a pastry bag, this will look the most refined. If you don’t, no worries, a spoon will do the trick. 
  6. Sprinkle the tops with a touch more of any or all of the spices used in the recipe. 
  7. Voila! Serve these with a slice of toast for breakfast or next to a big salad for lunch/dinner. 

DSC_0875

DSC_0836

 

Happy Eating friends! 

XO~Sam

 

One thought on “Devilishly Delicious Angelic Eggs 

Leave a Reply

