Blue Hubbard Squash and Oat Mini Muffins

Blue Hubbard Squash and Oat Mini Muffins

That title sure is a mouthful, isn’t it? These muffins aren’t quite… they’re more like a half a mouthful. 😉 I splurged on a mini muffin tin a few months ago and I am so glad I did. I am totally going mini muffin crazy. Mini muffins cook quicker, get crispier edges and are the perfect size for my little one to grip. I had a moment of trepidation about posting yet another muffin recipe but I quickly came to my senses. I love muffins, everyone loves muffins. They are warm, comforting and oh so easy to pack full of nutrition without having to sacrifice any of their delicious cakey goodness. Plus the possibilities are endless; I seem to have 2 or 3 muffin ideas brewing at any given time. I’m slightly obsessed. I may have to change the name of my blog to Earthly Muffins. 😉

I packed some awesome super foods into these babies. As always these are easily omitted or substituted. Mesquite flour is gluten free and rich in soluble fiber. It is an excellent source of calcium, magnesium and is also higher in protein than most grain flours. It has a sweet, earthy taste with notes of molasses and caramel. Its an awesome flour to have around for gluten free baking, so if you haven’t already, get some! Cacao nibs are bitter chocolately bites of antioxidant heaven. They give me such a nice boost of energy that I’ve been known to pop a handful to combat the dreaded 3 PM slump. They really up the fanciness of your finished product too. Cacao nibs are most definitely chocolate chips more sophisticated, sexy cousin. 😉

Alright, that’s enough TALK about muffins. Let’s get down to the BAKING!

Blue Hubbard Squash and Oat Mini Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Blue Hubbard Squash baked in oven for 45 minutes on 400 – any winter squash would work. I wanted to try something new, turns out blue Hubbard squash is delicious!
  • 1 cup rolled outs
  • 1/2 cup almond flour *I ground soaked almonds (soak almonds for 4-6 hours if possible) in my coffee grinder*
  • 1/4 cup mesquite flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/4 tsp ground clove
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (I only added the chocolate chips to half of the batter. They were tasty with or without them!)

Process

  1. Set oven to 350 degrees
  2. Place squash, eggs, melted coconut oil, sugar and almond extract in a large bowl and mix well
  3. Place all remaining ingredients in a small bowl and mix to combine
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined
  5. Pour batter into a mini muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes. If you don’t have a mini muffin tin, bake your normal size muffins for 25-30 minutes or so. Test muffins with a toothpick at 25 minutes, if it comes out clean, they are ready to start cooling!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/712/73322791/files/2015/01/img_4828.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/712/73322791/files/2015/01/img_4860.jpg

Leave a comment